Reviews

9.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.2
Comfort
8.6
Property location
9.6
Facilities
8.5
Staff
9.6
Value
9.2

Reviews

    Bertie
    za

    Review score

    7.5
    19 March 2018

    Very nice owner very helpful but the repair noise made us negative about the inn

    Building repairs next to our room immediately made me negative about the inn. Towels were not replaced on daily base. Our room was rather small but for the price I guess it is value.
    Very well situated near the lake and shopping area.
    David W
    cy

    Review score

    9.2
    8 February 2018

    A comfortable stay with great hosts.

    The bathroom facilities were somewhat cramped but more than adequate. It should be appreciated that the Lakeside Inn is a bar with some accommodation and therefore it should not be compared to an hotel. It is a guest house and in this context it is very good.
    The owners went above and beyond the call of duty to provide clean, comfortable accommodation and friendly advice to enable guests to get the most out of their visit to Guilin. The location is perfect with a number of the tourist attractions within walking distance.
    Babiguling
    sg

    Review score

    9.2
    23 December 2017

    Great find!

    Was a bit difficult to find with construction going on next door.
    Location was excellent - close to the lake and the shopping street. Couldn’t be more central. It is a really like a secret cozy place with just 3 rooms but everything was ship shape. Just what we needed. The friendly hosts also entertained my son playing computer games with them!
    Diane
    ca

    Review score

    9.6
    6 December 2017

    I would highly recommend Lakeside Inn.

    The location is excellent . The lake is almost right outside the door and the paths are beautifully lit at night for an evening walk. Starbucks is across the road for a morning coffee, overlooking the lake. It was fun to meet Jimmy the owner of the Inn and we enjoyed visiting with him in the little bar each evening. Tours were arranged for us , with our pick up at beside the Lakeside Inn. We speak English only but we were very comfortable speaking with Jimmy.
    Mark
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    4 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sharon
    au

    Review score

    7.5
    24 November 2017

    Good to stay close to Guilin Lake. Wet weather prevented outdoor activities

    The hotel was central and convenient
    A little more basic than previous hotels but clean and Jack was helpful
    S Lau
    ca

    Review score

    10
    4 November 2017

    Awesome and beautiful location, within 5 minutes by foot of everything.

    Only 3 rooms total, so book early!
    Owner was extremely friendly and helpful, amazing location. Place was clean and very quiet.
    cn

    Review score

    10
    1 November 2017
    it's an amazing hotel! the location is excellent and the traffic is so convenient. don't hesitate to stay here and it will not disappointed you. if i will go to Guilin again, i will choose to live here again.
    Olo_wr
    pl

    Review score

    7.5
    30 October 2017

    Good location

    A raft trip on Li River was not perfectly organized. In the end from Yangshuo we had to find public transport to return to Guilin. It was not cleary communicated in advance.
    Good location: close to the lake with the pagodas and to the pedestrian street with many restaurants. Hotel's manager very helpful: speaking English, arranging tickets for trips.
    Andrew
    nz

    Review score

    9.2
    22 October 2017

    Great location to walk around the lake

    Didn’t offer breakfast
    Location
    Elizabeth
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    19 October 2017

    The Little Inn with a Warm Heart-I wish I could have stayed longer.

    I was not bothered by it but the next door building is being renovated and there is some noise and mess which is likely to last a further year. If you are a light sleeper then be aware there is light noise from people enjoying the lake and gardens area on some evenings.
    Lakeside Inn is what it says an Inn located by a lake in what is an URBAN LOCATION. There is pedestrian zone and narrow garden with trees between the Inn and lake. There is also a small patio area with tables/chairs at front of the Inn. The area is a popular location for Chinese holiday makers and family strolls, fishing and boating and there is a small stage area where soft music was played live some evenings. I would liken the Lakeside Inn's public area to a bistro bar/cafe which is visited by locals and westerners and is very popular with the young and young at heart. There are 3 bedrooms upstairs and guests were of a broad age group and nationality All accommodation is very clean and well maintained with quality laminate or tiled flooring. My room was simply furnished with nice quality bed, bedside tables, desk/dressing table ,clothes rail ,armchair and bedside lights. There was a safe and also a lockable drawer with keys . The downstairs public area had a nice atmosphere and served small meals/snacks i.e. sandwiches,pizzas, French fries,dumplings and (my favourite) noodles. There is a very popular and smart Chinese - food restaurant close by and Starbucks within easy distance.(if you need). Jack the owner/host is world travelled & obviously loves the business.He is a warm and excellent host , anxious to create a welcoming and enjoyable stay. He communicates well with good English. He is able to arrange transfers and tours and offer advice. I loved my stay.
    violet
    il

    Review score

    10
    18 October 2017

    perfect

    -
    We stayed 2 nights at jacks beautiful place and enjoyed it very much he was very kind and helpful, always with a smile perfect location, the moon and sun pagodas are next to the hotel. There is a nice bar to chill out at night The rooms are super modern and comfortable Everything was great
    GRAZYNA
    pl

    Review score

    10
    18 October 2017

    Great location, clean room and very friendly owner :-)

    Rhonda
    hk

    Review score

    9.2
    8 October 2017

    Great time in central location.

    Bed was a bit hard....but its China!!
    The manager was brilliant and went out of his way before we even arrived to arrange airport pick-up, tours and sent information about options to see around Guilin. The bar downstairs is great (and rare in China) and the location is perfect. Walking distance to markets and the lake with the sen & moon temples.
    Daniel
    de

    Review score

    10
    1 October 2017

    Perfect place to stay in Guilin!

    -
    Room with beautiful modern furniture was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The english speaking staff is very friendly and caring. They helped us organize sightseeing tours and they gave us good informations what du do in Guilin. The Lakeside Inn also has a nice european-style bar with wide selection of beer and cocktails. We will definitely stay there again next time !!!
    Andrea
    it

    Review score

    9.6
    26 August 2017
    Location and staff
    es

    Review score

    7.9
    18 August 2017
    They speak English, what is very important in a city like Guilin where nobody speaks this language. They provide information about tours and anything you ask them (whereas in the tourist office they will not provide any information because they don't speak English!). Also, they pick you up at the station/airport when you arrive in case of need. We thank them for their help! :)
    Derek
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    7 August 2017

    If not perfect, very good

    There is building work currently right next to the hotel, if you like to get up late, you need to contact the hotel to see if the work is complete. We should have given more thought to the trip excursions before booking with the hotel, as we might have got a better suited/ priced trips.
    Both the owner and all of the staff were really helpful. The hotel was perfectly located and the free pickup from the airport could not have been improved upon. The hotel is right alongside the lake. Brilliant for walking and getting around the city. The bar has a great atmosphere, suitable for young, old and families. Free wifi a big advantage.
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    5 August 2017

    Great central location

    Great location downtown. Very clean. Friendly staff. Bar and restaurant downstairs were great for a drink, snack or breakfast. Close to lots of restaurants and shops. Booked transfers and tours through the front desk.
    Bob
    nz

    Review score

    8.8
    21 July 2017

    A room in a good location

    The owner was friendly, helpful with day tips ad general location tips. We had breakfast mostly at McDonald"s, as nil open before 10am and the owner comes to these premises around 11am as he lives elsewhere. The ground floor bar was owned also by the inn owner and was quiet, and mostly not busy during the week, His bar cafe offers good basic western food and drinks though but we dined at Rosemary"s Cafe -good western food in the shopping walkway. The Room 202 is the better one, better light with a double window looking out onto a walking lane and shrubbery of the lake garden, the smaller Room 203 has twin beds and overlooks a cluttered alleyway and parked cars (so called city view!), Room 201 is a strange (smallish) corridor like room with a window looking towards the outside walking lane and lake garden shrubbery. The rooms are very clean, slightly modern and functional. The cafe below is well adorned with interesting bits and pieces but the rooms lacked any of that and lacked soul - they could do with decent sized bright pictures or bright posters, some bright cushions on the office type chairs, easily bought from a market at 20 yuan, and generally the rooms could portray the colour that China represents. They had the potential to introduce much more colour as opposed to being basic functional plain rooms. Guilin is often the first stop for tourists after Hong Kong and most of the clients are foreigners. Good chance to make the rooms an introduction to the colour and variety that ethnic China is.
Loading reviews